When you're sharing your Website, or linking to a specific page from your Website on social media (eg: Facebook or Twitter), you can choose the image that will accompany your link by uploading a specific photo to use.
By default, the first image on a page will be used as the preview image when sharing a link to that page. By selecting a specific image you would like to assign for social sharing, you can control the message for social posts linking to your Website. While this is optional, we think it lets you set the right tone for your Website's social presence!
There are 2 types of social sharing images:
1. Site Social Image: this image will be used as the default preview image when you share your Website on social media (i.e. whenever you share https://www.yourdomain.com).
To add a Site Social Image, go to Website > Settings > Social, or click here, and you can upload your desired image.
2. Page Social Image: this image will be used when you share a specific page from your Website on social media (ie, whenever you share *https://www.yourdomain.com/portfolio* or *https://www.yourdomain.com/investment* for example)
To add a Page Social Image, click on the Page > Settings > Social Image, and you can upload your desired image to represent that page.
After adding any social images, remember to republish your website for the changes to take effect.
Note: If you don’t add a page social image, the preview will default to the site social image.
Why is no image showing when I share my link?
If you don’t share the complete URL for your website (eg: “mydomain.com”), the platform you’re using may not be able to pull the preview image. Be sure to use the full URL including https:// and any subdomain when sharing for the best results (eg: https://www.mydomain.com)
I’ve updated my social image but the old social image is still showing
If you’ve shared a website link on a particular platform previously, it may still show your old social image after you’ve updated it on Pixieset. This is usually because the platform has cached the old image and requires more time to update.
If you’re sharing on a Meta platform (Facebook, WhatsApp etc.) you can use the Meta Debugger Tool to speed up the process. Simply enter the URL that is showing the old image and click Debug. You can then click Scrape Again to have Meta re-scan your page and find the new social image. You should see the preview image update and then sharing the link again will show the correct image.