Draft sites let you build a new version of your Pixieset Website while keeping your current site live. Use a draft site to redesign your website, experiment with different themes and layouts, or prepare a large scale rebrand.
Important: Only one website can be live at a time. When you publish the draft site, your previous live site will become a draft site.
On this page:
Creating a draft site
You can create up to nine draft sites and return to customize them at any time.
To create a draft site:
- In the site builder, go to Settings > Draft Sites.
- Click + Add Draft Site.
- Enter a name for the draft site.
- Select a template.
Tip: The name you give the draft site is only used to identify the site in the builder. For example, you might name it “New business branding update”.
Editing a draft site
Your new site draft will appear under Settings > Draft Sites, where you can open and customize it at any time. Changes made to a draft site do not affect your live website.
When editing a draft, a banner at the top of the website builder will confirm which site you are working on.
Copying content between sites
If you want to reuse content from your current website on a draft site, save the page design to your library. You can then add the saved design to another site.
Note: Saving a page design is available on all site templates, except classic themes.
To save a page design:
- In the site builder, hover over the page want to save.
- Select ••• > Save Page Design.
Tip: To copy an individual content block instead of the entire page, hover over the block and click the Save icon. You can then add the saved block from your block library.
The design is automatically saved to your site builder. Open the draft site where you want to use it and add a new page. Then, select the design under Saved Pages.
The saved design includes the page’s content and images. When you add it to a draft site, its colors and fonts adapt to that site’s settings.
Publishing a draft site
Important: Updates to your website may not appear in search results immediately after publishing. Google and other search engines need time to crawl your new pages. Where possible, set up the same page URLs as your current site to help ease the transition.
When your draft site is ready, you can publish it as your live website:
- Open the draft site in the site editor.
- Click Set as live site in the bottom-left corner.
- Confirm you want to promote the draft site.
The draft site will become the website your visitors see, and your previous live website will automatically become a draft site.